Golden veggie soup – super fast, will fill you up, soothe your soul and make you smile

Posted on September 30, 2013

0


golden veggie soup

Feeling a little shabby today? What you need is some delicious golden vegetable soup.

I made soup for some people recently and was astonished when they said they never make it, they thought they would need a recipe and they wouldn’t be confident to just whip some up.

Of course I used to feel the same way. But now I know that soup is easy and I want you to know that you too can make it for yourself, easily and quickly, any time you like.

For my soup technique I have the wonderful yogis at the Sivananda Yoga Centre in Putney to thank.  The Centre is a wonderful place, run by volunteers, although they are a bit over keen on headstands for my liking (I overdid it with the headstands, but that’s another story). Alongside teaching yoga postures, they teach Karma Yoga – basically when you go there they encourage you to volunteer as well and will teach you Ayurvedic cookery, if you want to learn. They have produced a great cookbook which you can buy. I loved my time there. It did me a lot of good of many levels. And I have been very good at making soup ever since.

You can be good at making soup too.  Once you’ve mastered the basic (and it is VERY basic) technique, you can make all different kinds. today I’m going to share how to make this simple, clear golden vegetable soup. If you don’t like clear soups just blend it at the end to turn it into an equally lovely thick version of the same thing.

What is the basic technique for veggie soup?

You will need – veggies (any), spices and/or herbs (optional), stock cube or bouillon powder (also optional but recommended), water

Use whatever size saucepan you want to end up filled with soup.

Chop up some veg. (enough to ultimately fill your saucepan anywhere between a quarter to half way full)

Sweat the veg (heat a little fat or oil in a saucepan over a low heat, progressively add the veggies, start with onions if you’re using them, stir and coat with the fat or oil, then cover and leave to “sweat” for a good little while.

(A good working method is chop the onion, start to sweat the onion as you chop some more veg which you then add when it’s ready to go in then sweat your freshly added chopped veg with the onion as you chop up some more… and continue chopping and adding more veg till you’ve added as much as you are going to use.  Quantities don’t matter much. Use what you’ve got, or what you fancy.

Sweat for quite a while, say 5-10mins, longer if you like, don’t let anything in the saucepan brown or burn, it will just soften nicely and all the flavours will be released, just maintain a nice low heat with the lid on and give a stir every now and then.)

For the soup shown I used just one onion, three sticks of celery and a handful of chopped cabbage.

If you want a spicy soup, add your spices during the sweating stage. I used turmeric for today’s soup. Very nice.

Then add either water (the Sivandana purists way, if I remember rightly), or some stock. I don’t use stock cubes because they have wheat flour in them and I’m gluten free but you can use one if you like. Supermarket vegetable stock cubes work perfectly well taste-wise. I used Bouillon powder, I think it’s great. Two teaspoons to a pint or two of water, depending on saucepan size. Add more stock if your saucepan is bigger.  You are really not going to go very far wrong with this method.

Cook the veg in the stock for about twenty minutes.

Add any fresh herbs you may have lying around. I used some fresh parsley today.

Taste it, see what you think, if it’s not quite right add a little lemon juice, fresh ground pepper and/or salt if you’re a salt fan.

If you want it thick, blend it. Blending it will make it quite creamy too, no need to add any dairy for a creamy soup.

Let me know how you get on.

Here’s the soup I made today:

Image

