Tuna, strawberry, spinach and egg salad – yes really and you will love it!

Posted on April 9, 2014

0


tuna, spinach, strawberries and poached egg salad with balsamic dressing

Yesterday I was so busy and hadn’t thought about lunch at all till I managed to grab a break around one o’clock, at which point I was starving and in a real hurry before my next meeting.

I threw this together from what I could find in the fridge and freezer. Was very pleased with it indeed and had the same thing for dinner with a tiny bit of steak (no egg this time) which my lovely husband had got for me.

Sometimes the best salad inventions come out of necessity. And working from home and being able to raid the fridge, rather than having to run out to a cafe for lunch, is an absolute joy!

 

Tuna steak from a bag of frozen tuna steaks from Iceland – straight on to a hot griddle with a tiny bit of oil, cooked on a low heat for 16-20mins

Poach the egg.

Place spinach in a bowl.

To make the dressing  just add one third balsamic vinegar to two thirds olive oil and shake up together in a jar.

Let the strawberries soak in a wee bit of the vinegar while you cook everything else then throw it all together.

Honestly. It may be a slightly unconventional combination but this is  very delicious.

#thelazyhealthyyummer.

tuna, spinach, strawberries and poached egg salad with balsamic dressing

